Journal Prompt

What Would Your Perfect Room Look Like?

Since this question isn’t specific as to what room… I actually have two rooms in mind. Two rooms that I’ve wanted for a long time. Maybe one day I’ll have them… or at least a combination of both.

A Craft Room

I love crafts! Maybe it’s a girl thing but I’ve tried and loved so many! Over the years, I’ve accumulated so many things and now they are just stored everywhere. To have just one space for it would be great!

It doesn’t have to be HUGE! But to give you a little perspective on how many things I have, let me tell you what I’ve gotten into over the years.

  • Scrapbook
  • Latch-hook
  • Sewing
  • Crocheting
  • Knitting

It’s not A LOT of activities… but if you think of the supplies for each… maybe you’ll have an idea. So without further ado… let me describe my perfect craft room!

I’d love to have a wall-to-wall desk with cabinets on top and maybe rolling drawers on the bottom, shelving and an island. The island is not NECESSARY.

The goal is to have proper storage for:

  • The gazillion pens and markers
  • Crayons and coloring books
  • All sorts of glue
  • Washi tapes
  • Stickers
  • Stencils
  • Beads and string
  • Paper punches
  • Stamps and ink pads
  • All sorts of scissors
  • Scrapbook and craft paper
  • Sewing equipment
  • Fabric
  • Yarn
  • Paracords
  • Key rings, bracelet clamps and the like

I’d love to have those shelves from Ikea… the cubby ones to properly store all of my yarn. Right now they are in 3 Rubbermaid bins. 😦

A Study

I’ve loved books for as long as I can remember. So much that I worked at Chapters for 4 years (the longest I’ve held a job). I am not a library girl – though I do have a library card. I just prefer to own books instead. Probably have something to do with my allergies but also I love rereading my books. I’ve collected so many books over the years. I’ve got many genres on my bookshelves right now. From fiction to non-fiction, art books and even textbooks. All of them are in perfect condition too! No writing in them. No dog earred pages. No dents, marks or folds on the covers.Yes, I am THAT person. And yes, I would buy textbooks just for the fun of it. Unfortunately, I’ve had to give loads of books away because I ran out of room. *cries*

I’ve done a number of college programs – 4 to be exact. I’ve only ever had a small space to study which probably didn’t help with my spine situation. My desk was always cramped. A study would’ve been AMAZING!

I remember my great grandpa had a study in my childhood home in the Philippines. That was probably the exact moment in my life when I knew that I could have that kind of a room at home. I’ve just never had the space in any of the houses I’ve lived in since.

I would absolutely LOVE to have a study one day. A large room with a large window on one wall – maybe a sliding door instead that leads to a balcony. One or two walls with bookshelves all the way to the ceiling… for all of my books and binders. I’d love one or two shelves dedicated to all my school stuff. Textbooks and reference books, binders, projects, reports, and flashcards. Of course, a comfy futon to lay on while reading my books with a proper reading lamp is a must!

I’ve also always wanted an L-shaped desk with a comfy ergonomic chair.  Just super tired of having a cramped work space!  It would give me enough space so that I don’t have to put my laptop away every single time I’m done using it and still have room to work on other things. I’d love to have an awesome printer/scanner, paper shredder and laminator! Drawers with organizers are a must! For pencils, pens, paperclips, binder clips, post its and all that. To have a cabinet to store extra supplies in (I sort of become a supply hoarder when it goes on sale).

Oh, the dream! One day…  one day! If I really had to choose though…. If I could only have one of the rooms… I would definitely choose to have the study. No contest there!

What would your perfect room look like? Have you written a post on it? Share it with me in the comments! ♡

One thought on “What Would Your Perfect Room Look Like?

Leave a Reply

