Journal Prompt

My Ideal Morning

My mornings used to be fast paced. During the week, my alarm would ring at 5 in the morning giving me half an hour to roll around and fully wake up so that I can get up at 5:30. I would then get ready for my day, have coffee and be out of the house by 6:15. I’d take the train two cities over and walk to school and be there for 7. Class didn’t start until 8:30 so I would use that time to review my studies or complete an assignment that I couldn’t finish the night before.

My ideal morning, however, is much different than what it used to be. The following three things are what my ideal mornings would include.

  • Wake up on my own time! 

This one is a big one! With all of the medications I am taking, there’s no guarantee that I’m going to sleep well at night. There are times when I am so exhausted and yet I just cannot sleep! I’d roll around in bed all night trying to get comfortable. An example would be two nights ago when I couldn’t sleep. The last time I had looked at the clock, it was 4:30am and for whatever reason I woke up at 8:30. I was so exhausted that day!!! That’s not always the case, though. Two side effects of one of my medications, Venafelaxin, is drowsiness and insomnia. So sometimes I can’t sleep and other times all I want to do is sleep!

So waking up on my own time is a big thing for me. It allows me to get the sleep my body and mind needs.

  • Get to enjoy my coffee. 

I absolutely love the french vanilla from Tim Hortons. I got so excited when they started to sell them in the cans so that you can make them yourself at home. It’s so much cheaper to buy the cans than go to the store each time! This may sound a little over the top, but considering that I am at home most of the time, I like to buy 10 cans at a time! I like the comfort in knowing that I have my favourite coffee at home with me at all times. It’s super cheap! Less than $7 a can and I can make at least 8 cups with it! It lasts me months!

Getting to enjoy my coffee is just a little thing but it makes my mornings feel complete. I don’t like the days when I have to rush drinking my coffee – I feel like I don’t enjoy it.

  • Have at least 30 minutes to myself. 

Just a little bit of time to do my own thing before a day of house chores and mama duties. I usually just check what’s happening on social media or check my emails while enjoying my coffee.

 

How does your ideal morning look like?

Leave a Reply

